News Item

Bellarmine honors distinguished alumni

Jul 08, 2015

Awards dinner planned on November 7

Bellarmine graduates are leaders in their fields, from education, business and accounting to law, service and medicine. This year, the Bellarmine University Alumni Association will honor seven award recipients who have distinguished themselves through professional accomplishments, community service and demonstration of attitudes consistent with Bellarmine’s Catholic identity and the inclusive Thomas Merton spirit.

The annual Alumni Association Awards Dinner takes place Saturday, November 7, in the Amelia Brown Frazier Convocation Hall on Bellarmine University's campus. For ticket information, call 502-272-8333. For more information on the Bellarmine Alumni Association, visit

The honorees are:

Raymond G. Strothman

Alumnus of the Year: Raymond G. Strothman ‘67
President and chairman of Strothman and Company, one of the largest CPA firms in the region, employing more than 60 professionals and serving several thousand clients annually. Lifetime supporter of Bellarmine and an active community leader in Louisville.

Scarlet & Silver Society Inductee: Dorothy E. O’Brien ‘75
Vice president and deputy general counsel at LG&E. Long-time supporter and strategic advisor to the national champion Bellarmine Mock Trial program and member of Board of Overseers.

Monsignor Horrigan Distinguished Service Award: Robert G. Pfaadt ‘63
Bellarmine employee since 1976. History professor, current chair of liberal studies, past chair of history/political science and former administrator. 2011 faculty member of the year award.

Gallery of Distinguished Graduates:
Barry E. Fields ‘88

Partner at Kirkland & Ellis LLLP in Chicago, Illinois with extensive litigation experience and is a past lecturer at the University of Chicago Law School.

Deborah Moessner ’05 MBA
President & general manager of Anthem Blue Cross and Blue Shield in Kentucky.  Past chair of the Kentucky Chamber of Commerce and 2015 chairwoman of Leadership Kentucky.

Frank L. Schmidt ’66
Professor emeritus, retired chair and award-winning professor at the University of Iowa College of Business. International expert and consultant on industrial & organizational psychology.

Dr. John J. Wernert III ’81
Geriatric psychiatrist and health policy leader in Indiana. Recently appointed secretary of the Indiana Family and Social Services Administration, a $12.5 billion state agency overseeing healthcare and social benefits for over 1.4 million families.

Media Contact

Director of Media Relations and Social Networking