DEI Faculty Fellows Program

The Chief Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Officer (CDEIO) and Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost invite interested faculty to consider participating in the Diversity, Equity and Inclusion (DEI) Faculty Fellows program. DEI Faculty Fellows work closely with the CDEIO to work on initiatives dedicated to advancing diversity, equity, and inclusion at Bellarmine University.


DEI Faculty Fellows serve one-year terms with one course reduction (i.e., 3 hours of load) per academic year (August 15 to May 15); terms are renewable for up to an additional year based on progress towards goals and remaining needs. Compelling cases for summer appointments can also be proposed. Schools that have DEI Faculty Fellows will receive funds as appropriate to cover the costs for courses where reassignments necessitate part-time faculty. Faculty with nine-month appointments will receive stipends during summer appointments if no course reassignment is required. DEI Faculty Fellows initiatives and terms are set by the CDEIO and Provost annually. Up to four DEI Faculty Fellows will be selected during the 2021-2022 pilot year.

Current Projects Include

  • Working with Faculty Development and the CDEIO to develop a retreat for faculty interested in making their courses more equitable and inclusive. (SP4, Objectives 1 & 3)
  • Revising the campus climate survey. (SP4, Objective 2)
  • Utilizing campus experiences and data to further scholarly interests related to DEI. (SP4, Objective 2)
  • Sustaining and/or strengthening current campus and community DEI initiatives, particularly community initiatives serving West End Louisville. (SP4, Objectives 1, 3, & 4)
  • Facilitating university-wide conversations about conducting curricular audits to improve multicultural content in curricula. (SP4, Objectives 1 & 3)

Who is Eligible?

All full-time faculty are eligible to apply (i.e., tenure-track or tenure is not a requirement for application)

Additional DEI Faculty Fellows Roles and Responsibilities

  • Meet with other DEI Faculty Fellows and the CDEIO throughout the experience
  • Complete a year-end summary that includes a review of goals and objectives, including an assessment of the extent to which those goals and objectives were accomplished

Application Details

  • Email a letter of interest and current vita or resume to Dr. Donald “DJ” Mitchell, Jr. at by 5 p.m. on April 30, 2021. Letters of interest should:
  1. highlight the initiative of interest; 
  2. introduce the qualifications and/or experiences that make the applicant a strong candidate for the initiative of interest;
  3. share initial goals and objectives for the initiative along with proposed outcome and evaluation measures; and, if applicable,
  4. provide a rationale for a proposed summer appointment.
  • Applicants must receive approval from their chair and dean prior to applying. A brief email or letter of support should highlight the chair and dean’s support of the application and acknowledge the planning needed to cover any courses during the DEI Faculty Fellow’s experience.
  • DEI Faculty Fellows appointments will be finalized by May 15, 2021, for start in the fall 2021 semester. 
  • Annually, the CDEIO will provide letters of documentation to demonstrate efforts by DEI Faculty Fellows to support their annual reviews and/or their rank and tenure process.