Faculty

The history department has faculty with expertise in European, Russian, Middle Eastern, African, American, Latin American, and Caribbean History. Our history faculty provide opportunities for students to study in various parts of the world as part of their major. 

Fedja Buric, Ph.D.

B.A. - Bellarmine University
Ph.D. - University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign

  • Teaching fields: modern European history, Eastern European history, Balkans, genocide, nationalism
  • Research Interests: 20th century Bosnia and former Yugoslavia, socialism, post-socialism 
  • Office: Pasteur 208C
  • Phone: 502.272.8235
  • Email: fburic@bellarmine.edu

Ryne Clos, Ph.D.

B.A. - Centre College
M.A. and Ph.D. - University of Notre Dame

  • Teaching fields: World History, Latin American History, Middle Eastern History, History of Sports 
  • Research interest: Cold War-era Central America and Liberation Theology
  • Office: Pasteur 206A
  • Phone: 502.272.8167
  • Email: rclos@bellarmine.edu

Bill M. Donovan, Ph.D.

B.A. - University of Texas at Austin
M.A. and Ph.D. - Johns Hopkins University

  • Teaching fields: Colonial and Modern Latin America; military and political violence; exploration period; slavery; history of the Jesuits 
  • Research interests: Brazil and Portugal; Atlantic economic history; comparative business history; early modern social history 
  • Office: Brown Library 107
  • Phone: 502.272.8069
  • Email: bdonovan@bellarmine.edu 

Robert Pfaadt, M.A., Professor Emeritus

B.A. - Bellarmine College
M.A. - Arizona State University

  • Teaching fields: Western civilization, modern European, and Russian history 
  • Research interest: Nazi-Soviet relations, 1939
  • Email: rpfaadt@bellarmine.edu

Maria Schumacher, M.A.

B.A. - Bellarmine University
M.A. - University of Cincinnati

  • Teaching field: European history
  • Research interests: Visual culture, early 20th century Germany
  • Office: Pasteur 208C
  • Phone: 502.272.8167
  • Email: mschumacher01@bellarmine.edu

Timothy Welliver, Ph.D.

B.A. - DePauw University
M.A. - Ohio University
Ph.D. - Northwestern University

  • Teaching fields: African history, Middle Eastern history, Islam, slavery, and study-abroad courses in Europe and the Middle East
  • Research interest: 20th-century Zanzibar
  • Office: Pasteur 208D (P208D)
  • Phone: 502.272.8068
  • Email: twelliver@bellarmine.edu